Indie Bookstore • Downtown Providence • New Books Used Books Bargain Books • Online Gift Cards • FREE SHIPPING over $35

Vendor- HarperOne

The Boy, the Mole, the Fox, and the Horse, by Charlie Mackesy

The Boy, the Mole, the Fox, and the Horse, by Charlie Mackesy

HarperOne

Regular price $22.99 Sale

From the revered British illustrator, a modern fable for all ages that explores life’s universal lessons, featuring 100 color and black-and-white drawings.

“What do you want to be when you grow up?” asked the mole.

“Kind,” said the boy.

Charlie Mackesy offers inspiration and hope in uncertain times in this beautiful book based on his famous quartet of characters. The Boy, the Mole, the Fox, and the Horse explores their unlikely friendship and the poignant, universal lessons they learn together.

Radiant with Mackesy’s warmth and gentle wit, The Boy, the Mole, the Fox, and the Horse blends hand-written narrative with dozens of drawings, including some of his best-loved illustrations (including “Help,” which has been shared over one million times) and new, never-before-seen material. A modern classic in the vein of The Tao of Pooh, The Alchemist, and The Giving Tree, this charmingly designed keepsake will be treasured for generations to come.

The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse is not only a thought-provoking, discussion-worthy story, the book itself is an object of art.”The New York Times

"A wonderful work of art and a wonderful window into the human heart" (Richard Curtis)

"Simply, the world need's Charlie's work right now." (Miranda Hart)

“A sweet tale rendered in swirly black calligraphy and watercolor. Childlike in its simplicity, its messages are universal. . . . Mackesy has brought people together.” (The Washington Post)

“A lonely boy ambles through the countryside on a spring day, finding companionship: first meeting the mole, then the other animals of the title. As they walk, the new friends talk, wonder, share their hopes and fears and pose some big questions. . . . A big hit.” (The Philadelphia Inquirer)

“A delightful treat of a book. . . . If there were classes on how to be a good person, this book would be the textbook.” (Horse Nation)